

IJEA Hall of Fame Award Nomination Form

The IJEA seeks to honor individual scholastic media educators who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to the success and progress of IJEA and scholastic media education. Hall of Fame inductees must meet some or all of the criteria listed on the second page of this form. The award is presented at the annual awards luncheon in June unless a special function, such as an anniversary celebration, is deemed a more appropriate venue.

Past recipients of this award are encouraged to submit nominations. Those who are aware of qualified candidates should recommend those individuals to past recipients for official nomination. The list of IJEA Hall of Fame members can be found on the second page of this form. **Annual deadline: Postmarked or received electronically by March 1 of the current school year.**

Section 1: nominator's information

NAME:	EMAIL:	
SCHOOL NAME:		
SCHOOL ADDRESS:		
	PHONE NUMBER:	
Section 2: nominee's information		
NAME:	E-MAIL:	
SCHOOL NAME:		
SCHOOL ADDRESS:		
	PHONE NUMBER	

Please include a 1-2 page typed letter of recommendation for this nominee, stating your reasons for nomination and providing examples of why this nominee should be inducted. See criteria on second page. Include your nominee's résumé along with up to three one-page letters of support. These could come from other IJEA Hall of Fame members, colleagues, students or former students, parents or others.

Mail the application materials to:	Dr. Sally Renaud, IJEA Executive Director
	Journalism Department, Eastern Illinois University
	600 Lincoln Ave., Charleston, IL 61920-3099

Or submit all materials digitally to serenaud@eiu.edu

Application materials must be postmarked or received electronically by March 1 of the current school year.

Criteria for IJEA Hall of Fame Recipients

Inductees will meet some or all of the following criteria adapted from CSPA Gold Key Award, KSPA Hall of Fame Award for Journalism Educators, KEMPA Hall of Fame

Service to IJEA and to the education of student journalists in Illinois:

- Having significant numbers of students enrolled in his/her journalism or media program.
- Being involved in IJEA and/or a regional press association as an active member, board member, committee member, speaker, author, judge.
- Coming to the aid of Illinois advisers or programs faced with prior review and/or censorship.
- Mentoring new advisers, either formally through the IJEA-JEA Mentoring Program or informally over a sustained period of time as documented by the nominator's letter.
- Being involved in IHSA journalism sectional or state contests.
- Writing journalism-related articles or books for statewide circulation.
- Being recommended by one or more of the following in addition to a current IJEA Hall of Fame member: school administrator, other school personnel, media professional, former student currently active in media or journalism education.
- Having a minimum of 10 years' experience as a journalism educator/student media adviser.

Contributions to the field of student journalism:

- Speaking at conferences or teaching at journalism workshops local, regional, state, national.
- Judging scholastic media contests for other states or national groups.
- Writing journalism-related articles or books for national circulation, including sharing original lesson plans via schooljournalism.org or other websites.

Outstanding personal achievements related to student journalism:

- Becoming an elected or volunteer leader of a regional, state or national scholastic journalism group other than IJEA.
- Achieving JEA recognition as a Certified Journalism Educator or Master Journalism Educator.
- Receiving awards from other scholastic media organizations.

IJEA Hall of Fame Recipients

2008 Inductees

Candace Perkins Bowen, St. Charles High School (Kane County) Sarah Doerner, Du Quoin High School (Perry County) Dana Ewell, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Champaign County) Melinda Foys, Conant High School (Cook County) Diana Peckham, Pekin Community High School (Tazewell County) Randy Swikle, Johnsburg High School (McHenry County) Susan Tantillo, Wheeling High School (Cook County) James Tidwell, Eastern Illinois University (Coles County) Tom Winski, Monmouth High School (Warren County)

2014 Inductees

Wayne Brasler, University of Chicago Laboratory High School (Cook County) Linda Kane, Naperville Central High School (DuPage County) Cathy Wall, Harrisburg High School (Saline County)

2017 Inductees

Brenda Field, Glenbrook South High School (Cook County) Stan Zoller, Lake Forest College (Lake County)