DIVISION 5

CORE CATEGORIES

News

Best News Story

1st: Leah Dunne, Cassidy Foronda, Gigi Cepeda, Glenbrook South HS2nd: Barbara Collins, Sarah Major, Katie Anthony, Sydney Hall, Downers Grove South HS3rd: Neya Thanikachalam & Riddhi Andurkar, Naperville Central HSHM: Jack C. Davis, Glenbrook South HS

Best In-Depth News Story

1st: Ana Turner, Naperville Central HS
2nd: Imra Tajuddin & Jack C. Davis, Glenbrook South HS
3rd: Skylar Sharkey, Huntley HS
HM: Katie Anthony, Barbara Collins, Sydney Hall, Vince Vena, Kendall Brost, Matthew
Hollendonner, Downers Grove South HS
HM: Barbara Collins, Downers Grove South HS
HM: Maryjane Glynn, Violet Guzman-Robles, Esther Lim, Dea Sulejmani, Glenbrook South HS
HM: Alex Landman, Huntley HS
HM: Neya Thanikachalam, Naperville Central HS
HM: Vicky Kolotov & Ani Nuthalapati, Stevenson HS
HM: Dylan Hu, Stevenson HS

Features

Best Feature Story

1st: Kobe Collins, Taft HS
2nd: Brigid Murphy & Eliza Schloss, Glenbrook South HS
3rd: Jini Grover, Stevenson HS
HM: Jayna Bardahl, Downers Grove South HS
HM: Sarah Major, Downers Grove South HS
HM: Katrina Troy, Huntley HS

Best Personality Profile

1st: Neya Thanikachalam, Naperville Central HS (Packing a punch)2nd: Marc Alvarez, Downers Grove South HS3rd: Raj Mullick, Stevenson HSHM: Emily Kindl, Huntley HSHM: Neya Thanikachalam, Naperville Central HS (Tommy Coyne)

Sports

Best Sports News Story

1st: Andrea Davenport, Downers Grove South HS2nd: Sarah Major, Downers Grove South HS3rd: Megan Troke, Naperville Central HSHM: Sofia Snyder, Glenbrook South,HM: Alana Cervera, Naperville Central HS

Best Sports Feature Story

1st: Sarah Major, Downers Grove South HS2nd: Cheryl Chen & Lawrence Kreymer, Stevenson HS3rd: Austin Stadie, Huntley HSHM: Katie Anthony, Downers Grove South HSHM: Alex Landman, Huntley HS

Best Sports Commentary

1st: Megan Troke, Naperville Central HS (Baseball)2nd: Megan Troke, Naperville Central HS (Sidelined)3rd: Sherwin Thomas, Downers Grove South HS (March Madness)

Opinion

Best Staff Editorial

1st: Oracle Editorial Board, Glenbrook South HS (Hate speech)
2nd: Neya Thanikachalam & Staff, Naperville Central HS (Hawk TV)
3rd: Alex Landman, Emma Kubelka, Maggie McGee, Huntley HS (Stress)
HM: Andrea Davenport, Downers Grove South HS
HM: Neya Thanikachalam & Staff, Naperville Central HS (Drive safely)

Best Serious Commentary

1st: Leah Dunne, Glenbrook South HS2nd: Riley Murphy, Huntley HS3rd: Cassidy Foronda, Glenbrook South HSHM: Emily Kindl, Huntley HSHM: Theresa Teresof, Taft HSHM: Neya Thanikachalam, Naperville Central HS

Best Humorous Commentary

1st: Josie Schneider, Glenbrook South HS2nd: Elizabeth Rose Szpytek, Downers Grove South HS3rd: Vince Vena & Matthew Hollendonner, Downers Grove South HS

Best Review 1st: Ana Turner, Naperville Central HS 2nd: Alejandro Nunez, Taft HS 3rd: Skylar Sharkey, Huntley HS HM: Ben Olson, Glenbrook South HS HM: Rhaya Truman, Downers Grove South HS

Photos

Best News or Feature Photo

1st: Rachel Nwia, Glenbrook South HS2nd: Cassidy Foronda, Glenbrook South HS3rd: Jhenevie Oca, Downers Grove South HS (Daddy-Daughter Dance)HM: Adele Lee & Ryan Johnson, Stevenson HS

Best Sports Photo

1st: Lindsay Valero, Downers Grove South HS 2nd: Katrina Troy, Huntley HS 3rd: Kobe Collins, Taft HS

Art & Graphics

Best Editorial Cartoon

1st: Emmanuelle Copeland, Downers Grove South HS (Swipe)2nd: Raya Shoilekova, Glenbrook South HS3rd: Crisanta Soto, Taft HSHM: Riley Gunderson, Glenbrook South HS

Best Illustration

1st: Emmanuelle Copeland, Downers Grove South HS2nd: Chaeyeon Park, Glenbrook South HS3rd: Riley Gunderson, Glenbrook South HSHM: Crisanta Soto, Taft HS

Best Infographic

1st: Cheryl Chen, Stevenson HS2nd: Neya Thanikachalam, Naperville Central HS (Recycling)3rd: Maddy Ruos & Alexandra Sharp, Glenbrook South HSHM: Emily Kindl, Huntley HS

Miscellaneous

Best Alternative Storytelling

1st: Lindsay Valero, Katie Anthony, Barbara Collins, Downers Grove South HS2nd: Riddhi Andurkar, Naperville Central HS3rd: Sophie Vick, Glenbrook South HSHM: Olivia Lamberti, Stevenson HS

Best Use of Social Media

1st: Will Miller, Downers Grove South HS (Twitter)
2nd: Riddhi Andurkar, Naperville Central HS (Twitter)
3rd: Staff, Huntley HS (Twitter — sports account)
HM: Bry Walker, Huntley HS (Twitter — general account)
HM: Editorial Board, Glenbrook South HS (Facebook)

Best Headline

1st: Brigid Murphy & Eliza Schloss, Glenbrook South HS2nd: Julia Patterson, Glenbrook South HS3rd: Donte Reed, Downers Grove South HSHM: Riley Murphy, Huntley HSHM: Ana Turner, Naperville Central HS

Best Advertisement

1st: Bella Greenspan, Stevenson HS (Purple Sprout)2nd: Riley Murphy, Huntley HS (Lotus Nails)3rd: Olivia Lamberti, Stevenson HS (Love History)

PRINT CATEGORIES

Best Single-Page Story Package

1st: Yoo Young Chung, Naina Prasad, Neya Thanikachalam, Naperville Central HS
2nd: Sam Wichhart, Ana Turner, Neya Thanikachalam, Naperville Central HS
3rd: Abby Grant & Brigid Murphy, Glenbrook South HS
HM: Barbara Collins, Sydney Hall, Elizabeth Rose Szpytek, Katie Anthony, Downers Grove
South HS
HM: Jayna Bardhal, Katie Anthony, Jhenevie Oca, Downers Grove South HS
HM: Leah Dunne, Grace Shin, Cassidy Foronda, Glenbrook South HS
HM: Riley Murphy & Jenna Link, Huntley HS

Best Centerspread Story Package

1st: Eliza Schloss, Leah Dunne, Abigail Grant, Glenbrook South HS
2nd: Neya Thanikachalam & Yoo Young Chun, Naperville Central HS
3rd: Maddy Ruos & Alexandra Sharp, Glenbrook South HS
HM: Ana Turner & Yoo Young Chun, Naperville Central HS
HM: Danielle Rhody, Kelsey Ryan, Jenna Link, Katrina Troy, Kaitlyn Kalischefski, Huntley HS
HM: Rhaya Truman, Elizabeth Rose Szpytek, Jayna Bardahl, Sarah Major, Andrea Davenport, Downers Grove South HS

Best Photo Story 1st: Yoon Kim, Glenbrook South HS

Best Front-Page Design

1st: Katie Anthony, Downers Grove South HS (March)
2nd: Katie Cavender, Nick Moran, Anne Marie Yurik, Glenbrook South HS
3rd: Leah Dunne, Cassidy Foronda, Grace Shin, Glenbrook South HS
HM: Mary Szymanski, Naperville Central HS (November)
HM: Katie Anthony, Downers Grove South HS (October)

Best Overall Design

1st: Leah Dunne, Grace Shin, Cassidy Foronda, Glenbrook South HS (Dec. 22, 2017)
2nd: Staff, Naperville Central HS
3rd: Staff, Huntley HS (February 2018)
HM: Meghan Kelly, Kaela Gutierrez, Rachelle Mercado, Olivia Santelli, Alex Prestigiacomo, Taft HS (Dec. 22, 2017)

DIGITAL CATEGORIES

Best Multimedia Story Package

1st: Sarah Major, Jonah Ocuto, Barbara Collins, Lindsay Valero, Downers Grove South HS2nd: Alex Burstein & Trevor Fahnstrom, Taft HS3rd: Andrea Davenport, Kora Montana, Barbara Collins, Kevin Tate, Jonah Ocuto, DownersGrove South HS

Best Video Story

1st: Trevor Fahnstrom, Taft HS2nd: Jonah Ocuto, Andrea Davenport, Kevin Tate, Downers Grove South HS3rd: Jonah Ocuto, Barbara Collins, Lindsay Valero, Downers Grove South HS

Best Audio Podcast

1st: Jackson Kamedulski, Downers Grove South HS (Jigsaw) 2nd: Sam Kirk, Downers Grove South HS (Fake news)

Best Blogger

1st: Megan Troke, Naperville Central HS2nd: Andrea Davenport, Downers Grove South HS3rd: Madison Barr, Huntley HSHM: Elizabeth Rose Szpytek, Downers Grove South HS

Best Website

1st: The Editoral Board, Glenbrook South HS
2nd: Riddhi Andurkar, Naperville Central HS
3rd: Meghan Kelly, Kaela Gutierrez, Rachelle Mercado, Olivia Santelli, Alex Prestigiacomo, Theresa Teresof, Taft HS
HM: Emma Kubelka, Huntley HS

BEST PUBLICATIONS

Best Print Publication

1st: Statesman, Stevenson HS

Best Hybrid Publication

1st: Blueprint, Downers Grove South HS2nd: The Oracle, Glenbrook South HS3rd: Central Times, Naperville Central HSHM: The Voice, Huntley HSHM: Taft Today, Taft HS

Best Overall Publication

1st: Blueprint, Downers Grove South HS2nd: The Oracle, Glenbrook South HS3rd: Central Times, Naperville Central HS